Bonuses and multiple Triat rolls

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
ogbendog
Legendary
Posts: 2683
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:55 am

Bonuses and multiple Triat rolls

#1 Postby ogbendog » Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:56 pm

Assuming a PC has a +2 bonus from intimidate or aim. Aim says, "+2 to his shooring roll" (not plural). Intimidate and taunt say "+2 bonus to his next action"

1 - if they Frenzy attack one target, do they get the +2 to both Fighting rolls (IMO, yes, it's one action, there's no MAP, and only one wild die)
2 - if they have sword and dagger and attack the one target, do they ge +2 with both rolls (IMO, no, it's two different actions, there is a MAP, and each action has it's own wild die
3 - what if they frenzy two targets? IMO, no, and you have to use a different colored die to say, this one has a +2. Not exactly FFF
4 - what about sweep? IMO you only roll once, so you simply apply the +2 against that one target, the one you intimidated or taunted

aim
5 - you all ready said aim appllied to suppressive fire
6 - what about fireing bursts at the same target? say you have an M-16, you fire three 3-round burst, you roll 3 shooting dice and one wild die. It's only one action, but aim doesn't say +2 to your next shooting action, it says +2 to your next shooting rolls. It'd be simpler/easier/FFF to say, sure, +2 to all the rolls. But more RAW (rules as written) to say only one of the rolls gets the +2 to hit; use a different colored die
7 - what about firing a burst at a group? I can't find this in the book, but I'm pretty sure you roll all the dice then pick the targets. If you allowed the aim to be "at the group", you could say each die roll is +2. If not, you'd have to aim at one person in the group, then only the bursts designeted for him (using colored die) get the +2

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Bonuses and multiple Triat rolls

#2 Postby Clint » Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:35 pm

ogbendog wrote:Assuming a PC has a +2 bonus from intimidate or aim. Aim says, "+2 to his shooring roll" (not plural). Intimidate and taunt say "+2 bonus to his next action"

1 - if they Frenzy attack one target, do they get the +2 to both Fighting rolls (IMO, yes, it's one action, there's no MAP, and only one wild die)
2 - if they have sword and dagger and attack the one target, do they ge +2 with both rolls (IMO, no, it's two different actions, there is a MAP, and each action has it's own wild die
3 - what if they frenzy two targets? IMO, no, and you have to use a different colored die to say, this one has a +2. Not exactly FFF
4 - what about sweep? IMO you only roll once, so you simply apply the +2 against that one target, the one you intimidated or taunted


You seem to have this right. Just like the book says, the next action against that opponent.

The only thing I might add for Frenzy is that rather than using a different colored die, you could just let the attacker choose which die applied to which target and thus which got the +2 bonus.

Yes, it's a bit of an advantage, but it will make things run faster, it won't make a difference that often, and if both PCs and NPCs use the same rule, it's balanced.


ogbendog wrote:aim
5 - you all ready said aim appllied to suppressive fire


That I did.

ogbendog wrote:6 - what about fireing bursts at the same target? say you have an M-16, you fire three 3-round burst, you roll 3 shooting dice and one wild die. It's only one action, but aim doesn't say +2 to your next shooting action, it says +2 to your next shooting rolls. It'd be simpler/easier/FFF to say, sure, +2 to all the rolls. But more RAW (rules as written) to say only one of the rolls gets the +2 to hit; use a different colored die


Aim is +2 to the Shooting roll versus whatever he aimed at.

If a character aims, he is choosing a single target to fire at (Suppression fire is a special case as it allows an area to count as a single "target").

So, a character with Autofire who Aims at a target gets a +2 bonus to all Shooting rolls the next round as long as they are all taken against that one target aimed at.

If the player chooses to shoot at someone else with even one shot, the Aim bonus is lost on all of them as the character has no longer chosen a single target.

ogbendog wrote:7 - what about firing a burst at a group? I can't find this in the book, but I'm pretty sure you roll all the dice then pick the targets. If you allowed the aim to be "at the group", you could say each die roll is +2. If not, you'd have to aim at one person in the group, then only the bursts designeted for him (using colored die) get the +2


As noted above, it wouldn't apply.

Hope this clears things up. If not, let me know.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests