Super Powers Companion: Copy Cat and Unknown powers

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Rewind
Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:15 pm

Super Powers Companion: Copy Cat and Unknown powers

#1 Postby Rewind » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:29 pm

Firstly, apologies, I dont know all the tags for post titles, I hope I didn't break any forum rules.

My question:

If I have a super powered character (Character A) with the Copy Cat power and the Versatile modifier (lets say +1 Versatile in this instance) and they touch a character they know to be a super (Character B), but do not have any prior knowledge about that Character B's powers, does Copy Cat work?

If it does work, how does Character A determine what powers they get from the target? Versatile allows Character A to choose what powers they copy up to the normal limits, but if they do not know the powers they have to choose from, how can they choose?

TYIA

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20293
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Super Powers Companion: Copy Cat and Unknown powers

#2 Postby Clint » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:15 pm

Rewind wrote:If I have a super powered character (Character A) with the Copy Cat power and the Versatile modifier (lets say +1 Versatile in this instance) and they touch a character they know to be a super (Character B), but do not have any prior knowledge about that Character B's powers, does Copy Cat work?


Most likely. Trappings might change it in some way, but other than that, it would typically work.

Rewind wrote:If it does work, how does Character A determine what powers they get from the target? Versatile allows Character A to choose what powers they copy up to the normal limits, but if they do not know the powers they have to choose from, how can they choose?


Their power would let them know what powers that character has. Of course, the target would know the power was used on them, and if the Copycat was wrong and the target had no powers, then it would likely be like an Uncontrolled use against a person with no powers, meaning they would lose any other powers they have "copying" the powerless target.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest